21st Century Students, What it takes to create a Great Reader?

June 22, 2009 at 8:37 pm | Posted in uncategorized | Leave a comment

(Post authorized by Andrea Nikolaou)

This class has taught me so much about literacy.  As a student, I viewed reading as a chore that had to be done.  It was difficult for me to get through any reading assignment.  Now, as a graduate student, I see where my problem was with reading, I was not receiving support prior, during, or after a reading assignment.  If only I had a teacher who could have seen me struggling, I could have learned how to “read” much earlier.  As an adult, I learned that reading quick did not mean as much as absorbing what you read.  Angela Maiers expands on this in her blog, Mini-Lesson: Turning Good Readers into GREAT Readers!

Another important concept I have gained is that literacy is important in every course a student takes.  Reading in English is much different than reading a word problem in math.  It takes experience to recognize key words in a word problem and it should be our responsibility to teach our students how to do that on their own.  Reading should not only be based on word problems but also on articles or Internet based websites.  Incorporating technology is another important concept I have taken from this course.  One great award winning software that every school should have is Geometer’s Sketchpad.  This software allows students to explore ideas and move images that would have only been seen illustrated in a textbook.

This brings me to my next concern.  So many teachers are not willing to change with the times.  Students today are referred to as our 21st Century Students.  With this label come certain requirements.  Students today need to be challenged “with real world data, tools, and experts they will encounter in college, on the job, and in life (21st Century Standards).”  Angela Maiers extends on this in her blog Chalk Talk: Breakout the “Cs” Edition.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

