Shake Hands with the Science Goddess

January 14, 2008 at 1:20 am | Posted in uncategorized | 5 Comments

The Science Goddess wrote a post on her blog, What It’s Like on the Inside,  welcoming the students of SJFC.   I would encourage you to read not only this post and leave a comment, but also take the time to explore past posts.  Whether the topic is student learning, classroom instruction, or ancedotes on life and the job, I’m sure you’ll find something that strikes a chord with you.  Are you beginning to see the power of building your own on-line professional networks?

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi 525 Students,
    I was lucky enough to be in the summer 2006 class, where I first learned about blogs and wikis. I’m now teaching physics at Mendon High School. I’ve had an intermittent personal blog going at http://mobileteacher.blogspot.com/, but most recently I have started my physics students blogging like Darren Kuropatwa’s math classes in Winnipeg. Take a look at http://mendonphysics.blogspot.com/.
    Good luck and have fun!

  2. Larry,
    It’s great to hear from you. Thanks for sharing your blog with us. I look forward to peeking into your classroom to see what your students are experiencing. We’d love to have you continue to comment on our posts throughout the semester. Take care!

  3. Sounds like this is a teacher (The Science Goddess) who is interested in looking for that little edge to make instruction better. We should never settle for for the level we are at. We should always look to improve on what we have accomplished. It sounds like this teacher has identified student weaknesses and is trying to correct them one step at a time. Without sound fundamentals education can go nowhere.

  4. Mike,
    I’d like to encourage you to leave a comment on her blog as Tracy and Caitlin did so she knows that you have taken the time to read her message to our class. Thanks!

  5. I just would like to send a note to the Science Goddess, from whom I have learned so much. I learned that an awful lot of pontificating on an internet blog, a teacher does not make. I’ve learned to be wary of authoritative voices that claim to know it all. I’ve learned that students understand who is crazy. Be wary.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

