Where Did the Weekend Go?

June 4, 2006 at 11:43 pm | Posted in Content Area Literacy | 13 Comments

Well, considering the first weekend of June was spent in a classoom (and for part of the time a very hot computer lab) at Fisher, I am feeling quite refreshed by the experience. Janet and I were commenting on how amazing the class discussions were around the literacy anticipation guide questions. If only I was able to podcast that conversation….. I am truly looking forward to the month of weekend sessions and observing as everyone's concept of content area literacy begins to evolve.

Just think, a few days ago only a small handful of you knew what blogs were and no one in the class had ever blogged. Now you all have your Bloglines account, have made your first comment to our blog, and hopefully are starting the habit of reading blogs on a daily basis (and maybe even commenting on some blogs outside of ours).

What is truly amazing is after our first day of using this blog, Vicki Davis, a.k.a. Cool Cat Teacher, commented on Let's Blog Together. She wrote,

"The first skill of a great blogger is effective commenting!" As we get more familiar and comfortable with this literacy tool, hopefully our comments will grow and connect to reflect the deepening understanding of the literacy connection in teaching the content areas.Additionally, the Science Goddess of What It's Like on the Inside , posted a warm welcome to our class and shared some wonderful resources. Be sure to check it out and recipricate by commenting with any of your resources and insights.

I must also thank Brian. If he didn't come home each night from work and share with me all of the incredible opportunities for implementing technology in education, you all would be writing reflective papers for Janet and me rather than sharing your learning with everyone.

Have a great week and I'll see you all Friday night. Wendy

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. We are watching you grow and develop. This is truly a world stage and world audience you now live in! Keep up the great work!

  2. This weekends class energized my passion for literacy in the content areas. I am excited for the diverse group of educators that are in our class and look forward to the perspective they will bring. Blogging was and unknown world to me. It will be an exciting adventure to take on!

  3. I feel the same way as Steph. I thought this weekend was a great intorduction to a powerful tool that I am excited to use and implement in a future classroom. The possibilities are endless!

  4. I am also very excited and optimistic about this class. I look forward to finding out way to implement “useful” technology AND literacy in the classroom. This class seems as though it will provide many insights into new ways to incorporate the two!

  5. Ditto for me!
    This is going to be an excellent adventure. It seems there is a good mix of working teachers and wannabees like myself, which in previous GMST classes has proven to be the way to go.
    By the way, when I ordered my text for the class from Amazon I picked up another book (more of a pamphlet actually) that everyone may be interested in (Wendy and Janet – you saw this). It’s written by Literacy Goddess Janet Allen – “Tools for Teaching Content Literacy”; ISBN 1571103805. It’s a good summary of many of the strategies we will be learning in GMST525, and more!

  6. This class is a necessary one for all teachers of any content. If a student can’t read, how can they possibly understand questions being thrown at them? I saw that Wendy noticed some of the Greece teachers have some background knowledge on all of this. It’s true. We use the Fountas and Pinnell book, Guiding Readers and Writers, Teaching Comprehension, Genre, and Content Literacy, as our bible. This book is jammed full of hands on, tried and true applications that can and have been used in the classroom. Our discussions and the readings in our textbook echo what this book has to say. It’s all about teaching our students to use their fix-up strategies to figure out how to read a word, and then use the context that it is in, to figure out what the word means.
    I’m excited too about this class. I think we’ll have some lively discussions and be able to share and borrow some great ideas.

  7. It WAS a pretty amazing weekend. The conversations that we had is really pumping me up for the next 3 weeks that we are together. It is great when so many people from many differnt backgrounds can get together and have intelligent conversations. It really makes for some exciting things to come.
    I will have to agree with Jessica when she says, “I look forward to finding out ways to implement “useful” technology AND literacy in the classroom. This class seems as though it will provide many insights into new ways to incorporate the two.”

  8. Finally, a literacy class that is helpful to all content areas. I am excited that this course is developed so that we can all benefit from what we learn in class and through the readings.

    I have been searching and working hard to implement discovery based learning techniques as well as supplemental literature into the mathematics curriculum. I think many of us math teachers are sick of being the teachers who teach the boring subject of math and it is a challenge to make learning fun!

    I am sure we will acquire a great amount of techniques and suggestions over the next 3 weeks. We have such an eager group of professionals that are on a quest to make a difference!!!

  9. I know many of you and due to conflicting class schedules was unable to be directly in class. I am taking this course as an independent study, but I must say that reading everyone’s opinions and reflections has made this class extremely worth while. I have learned so much already just by participating in this blogging experience. You all are very insightful and I am looking forward to a month of blogging and learning! Thanks everyone.

  10. There are so many great ideas that have been shared during our first two days. Literacy is definitely something that students struggle with. Even reading and interpreting a math word problem is difficult. I am looking forward to the many strategies I will be able to use with my students next year.

    I agree with Catherine that this is a necessary course for all teachers. We all struggle to get our students to read – whether it is a textbook, article, or word problem. It would have been helpful to have had a class like this as an undergraduate.

    This morning I received in my mailbox a copy of the schedule for our Superintendent Conference Days at the beginning of school next year. Much of our conference days will be spent talking about blogs, wikis, podcasts, etc. Interestingly enough Will Richardson will be conducting some of the workshops!

  11. I hate to say that I usually am a critic of most courses I initially walk in to. However, I do see the value of literacy and it is a great thing to see all of us relate and kind of bind together on the topic of our students. I think that this class will be a very informative and useful one. I look forward to implementing some of the things I learn here into my classes.

  12. I tend to be more of a critic in the beginning as well, but I am really interested in the relationship between literacy and math. Having only ever used textbooks for math, I feel it will be a great experience for me, not only as a future teacher, but as a student. I hate to think of all the mathmaticians we have lost because of wordy and boring textbooks. As horrible as it is to say, I think this might actually turn out to be a useful class, as some of my previous are still undecided.
    Great discussions everyone! I think we’ve got a really smart group of people in our class.

  13. Now this is what we like to hear, Mike!

    I hate to say that I usually am a critic of most courses I initially walk in to. However, I do see the value of literacy and it is a great thing to see all of us relate and kind of bind together on the topic of our students. I think that this class will be a very informative and useful one. I look forward to implementing some of the things I learn here into my classes.

    Amazing what is happening in this class. Transformative attitudes towards learning and literacy as well as thoughts/plans on using practical ideas learned in classrooms for your students.  Keep it going!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

